Under the Loving Care of the Fatherly Leader: North Korea and the Kim Dynasty by Bradley K. Martin

Under-the-Loving-Care-of-the-Fatherly-Leader-by-Bradley-K-MartinThe Democratic People’s Republic of Korea (DPRK) is a mystery to most Westerners. The “Hermit Kingdom” has been closed off since the 1950’s and is protected by the most heavily fortified border on the planet. The DPRK, formerly backed by the USSR, is the last hold-out of the Cold War era. How did it all begin? What’s this about nuclear testing? Who is this Kim Jeong-eun character who looks like a Korean version of Eric Cartman? For those seeking an answer to those questions and more, Under the Loving Care of the Fatherly Leader: North Korea and the Kim Dynasty by Bradley K. Martin offers unparalleled detail and in-depth analysis of one of the most secretive states in history.

I graduated from Augsburg College in 2008, a double major in history and English. After putzing about, a gig in the Peace Corps and a stint as a barista at a Barnes & Noble Starbucks in suburban Phoenix, I currently find myself in Andong, South Korea.

I moved here in August of 2010 and have taught high school and middle school ESL. Aside from my nine-to-five as a teacher and the trappings that go along with living day-to-day, I spend a lot of time reading books and articles about the Korean War and our neighbor to the north in general, the DPRK in particular. I have visited the DMZ twice, made numerous trips to Busan (Pusan) where my grandpa was stationed as a young serviceman and have spoken to South Korean veterans. As a budding history major during my sophomore year, I focused predominantly on the Cold War; one of the most exciting things about living here is that it is pretty much the last place on earth wherein the Cold War rages on, raging like a glacier, a slow, slow glacier.

In order to gain better understanding, to enhance my “historical imagination” and to figure how all this comes together, I picked up the daunting tome, Under the Loving Care of the Fatherly Leader: North Korea and the Kim Dynasty by Bradley K. Martin, published in 2004 (and as an ebook in 2011). Firstly, I’d like to address the experience of actually reading this book.

Stylistically speaking, Martin is, first and foremost, a journalist and his prose is rich and entertaining. He delicately balances objective journalism, such as relating interviews with N. Korean defectors, strict history, such as the downfall of Japan’s imperial claim over the Korean Peninsula, the rise of Kim Il-sung as a guerrilla fighter backed by the U.S.S.R. and the succession of his son, Kim Jeong-il, and Martin’s personal testimony, having visited the Hermit Kingdom on numerous occasions as a journalist.

I’m glad I read this book as an ebook (the paperback comes in at 896 pages) and I would make a strong case to anyone who engages this book do so with the help of a Kindle, Nook, Kobo or iPad. Time to come clean: I started this book in October of 2011, almost a year and a half ago, though I read the last half in four days. That said, there are portions that are dry and hard to get through. This book includes a lot of history, detail and testimony, and a lot of it can seem redundant, arriving at a singular point from a variety of angles and points of view. Wading through those portions, especially in the beginning, during the recounting of Kim Il-sung’s rise to power, and the relative affluence of the North as compared to the rural and under-industrialized South up until the 1960’s, was slow goings. It took me damn near a year and a half to get through that, though that period was never my primary interest. Where I started gunning my engines was right about the time of the 1976 axe murder inside the DMZ. As far as my interest was concerned, this was when North Korea became the North Korea near which I now coexist.

Kim Jeong-il has been the leader of North Korea since 1994, when his father died. I was 9 years old. December 17, 2011, I was sitting at my desk in rural South Korea when news came in that Kim had died and that the heir-apparent, Kim Jeong-eun, would take the reigns of the failing state. I read this book looking for clues, like a 900 page Ouija board to put some kind of context to where I live and how safe I should really feel.

Going into a detailed  list of all the things I learned seems inappropriate for the purpose of this review.  More importantly, I finished the book with a peace of mind and an insight into the options that Kim Jeong-il left his son. Nuclear tests and rocket launches are gambits of a scared princeling, instructions, no doubt, left by his father, a man-child lost in the darkest recesses of Neverland wishing his father had left him some road map other than the tired rhetoric of total victory and absolute destruction. For the last two and a half years, I have wondered when, not if, the bomb would drop. I have lived here for the 2011 shelling of a small island off the western coast (Yeonpyeong), the death of Dear Leader, the assent of Kim Jeong-eun and two rocket launch attempts (one successful). On February 12, 2013, the DPRK tested its third nuclear bomb since the creation of the state. I was sitting in a cafe in downtown Andong, looking out the window. People were walking around outside, shopping; people were busy eating ice cream and pizza at Baskin & Robbins and Pizza Hut; people were going about their lives; they knew there was no danger. All along, the people of South Korea have known many things I could never have understood, a place in time, a context and a condition. But this book brought me a little closer to that truth.

Under the Loving Care of the Fatherly Leader is not for the reader with a casual interest in North Korea (in that case check out Nothing to Envy by Barbara Demick). I’m not sure I would even recommend this book to a new arrival in South Korea. But for those who plan on living here a while and for those with an interest in the Cold War, and how the Korean Peninsula has yet to thaw, this book is for you.

Pages: 896    FOA Pages: 14,026

27 thoughts on “Under the Loving Care of the Fatherly Leader: North Korea and the Kim Dynasty by Bradley K. Martin

  1. I studied North Korea for my senior thesis in undergrad and still enjoy the topic. Thanks for the review of this book, although I admit I probably won’t be picking up any 900-page overtures anytime soon (however, thanks for the referral to Demick’s shorter work). The fact that Martin’s book gave you a greater sense of peace living in South Korea indicates, to me, that he provided a fair overview of what’s happening, which I find refreshing. I’m often disappointed to find Western authors regarding the North Korean leadership with the same disdain they reserve for madmen and dictators, which I think is a miscalculation. Even beyond the post-WWII tensions and Cold War rhetoric, it seems to me there’s a unique perspective driving most of North Korea’s bristles and bluster–a perspective borrowed from a distant place in history and a point of view now long forgotten.

    Someday, if I can ever quit my day job and take up reading full time, I may look into this book. Thanks again for the write up.

  2. Hello, i think that i saw you visited my blog so
    i came to “return the favor”.I am attempting to find things to enhance my web site!I
    suppose its ok to use some of your ideas!!

  3. All chocolate comes from the seeds or beans of
    the cacao fruit. Oz said FBCx is especially helpful for those times when you
    overindulge. White mulberry extract, on the other hand, is made from white
    mulberry.

  4. The Maijan Fine Hair Boost Hair Oil Treatment,
    helps to reinvigorate the scalp by bathing the scalp and hair
    with vital nutrients derived from the combination of Argan Oil, Neem Oil, Castor Oil, Rosemary Oil, and Aloe Vera Oil.
    Our ever popular Karora tanning range contains advanced bronzing formulas
    and skin firming treatments. You can add a couple drops
    of essential oils such as lavender or grapefruit oil
    to the coconut if desired.

  5. I do not even know how I stopped up right here, however I thought
    this put up used tto be great. I ddo not recognize who you might be howesver certainly you’re going
    to a well-known blogger in the event you are not
    already. Cheers!

  6. Can I simply just say what a comfort to uncover someone who truly knows what they are discussing on the
    web. You definitely know how to bring an issue to light and make it
    important. More and more people ought to read this and understand this side
    of the story. I was surprised you aren’t more popular given that you
    certainly possess the gift.

  7. Usually I don’t read post on blogs, however I would like to say that this write-up very compelled me to
    take a look at and do it! Your writing taste has been amazed me.

    Thank you, very nice post.

  8. Gainning dominance inn either is relatively cheap and quick at present and
    companies that react quickly are likely to bbe able to reap ricdh rewards and grow
    intrinsically owing tto the first mover advantage. It is important to ensure that all services
    that you want to package in tthe campaign iis in the approval
    document. Until now, thhe mobipe has attracted
    low advertising spends because of its simple text
    SMS format of advertising.

  9. One famous cardboard chair is the Wiggle Chair, created by Frank Gehry in 1972.
    However you should still consider how to make optimum use of the space.
    Many people will get rid of bedroom sets, chairs, tables, and many other pieces of good usable
    furniture simply because they don’t use them anymore or replace them.
    ‘ One of the key trends to note in the world of
    modern office furniture design is’color is king’. After having decided to buy
    solid oak, the next dilemma that most homeowners face
    is the choice between finished and unfinished oak furniture.
    Avoid placing furniture in front of or under windows.
    Therefore, always prefer buying new chairs for church.

    Cleanliness increases the life expectancy of your upholstered furniture so grab on to these furniture-cleaning tips.

  10. In case your device firmware is not upgraded to iOS 5.0.1, then start with achieving this.
    One created the illusion of a durable, impenetrable lock.
    You can have functions and your paperwork do the job efficiently and more organized.

What do you think? Share your thoughts.

