Touch and Go, A Novel by Lisa Gardner

Touch and GoLisa Gardner’s Touch and Go released this month and is already on the February 15, 2013 New York Times Best Seller List, coming in at Number 4.  As this book has a can’t-put-down story line, I imagine it will remain on the Best Seller List for quite a while. In Touch and Go, Lisa Gardner also brings back Tessa Leone, a character from one of her previous books, Love You More (also a great book).  But even if you have not read Love You More, you would have no problem at all following Touch and Go.

Lisa Gardner opens her novel in the voice of Libby Denbe with “Here is something I learned when I was 11 years old. Pain has a flavor.  The question is, what does it taste like to you? Tonight my pain tasted like oranges…”

This triggered some reflection for me.  Does my pain have a flavor?  Does my pain have a taste, a sound or a scent?  Both happy and hurtful memories I have are probably more associated with scents.  The smell of fresh picked tomatoes immediately takes me to my childhood at Lake Lanier in the summertime talking about life and literature with  my grandmother. The smell of laundry dried in the sun reminds me of childhood summers in Brunswick, GA  with my other grandmother talking about anything.  I can still get the sensation of feeling safe and worry–free just by those smells.

A specific scent of mulberry potpourri takes me to a place in my life where I would have been happy to be anyone but me, and I can feel the anxiety of stressful times as if it were yesterday.  I can pick a perfume that I used to wear years before and feel the feelings of that time in my life.  If I wore it during happy times, I can feel the happiness.  If I wore it during sad times, I can feel that too.  Which of the senses is your pain attached to?

In Touch and Go, the extremely wealthy family from Boston, the Denbe family, disappears. They are the perfect family. Justin Denbe inherited and runs one of the largest construction companies in the country.  Libby Denbe is an artist and a stay-at-home mom.  Her home is perfection, and she is beautiful, intelligent, and an incredible mother.  Their daughter, Ashlyn, is their lovely, cherished only child.  She is loved and doted on by both parents.  This looks like the perfect family from the outside, so who in the world would have a motive to kidnap them?  As the detectives look more closely into the story, they start to wonder “who does not have a motive to kidnap them?”  Things are perhaps not as perfect as they seem…

Pages: 400 pages  FoA pages: 12,259 (Total number of pages reported upon by the Friends of Atticus)

What do you think? Share your thoughts.

